Structure of seven W surfaces

Wei Xu, James Adams

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

34 Scopus citations


We present a theoretical study of the structure of seven W surfaces, using a modified fourth moment approximation to tight-binding theory. The seven W surfaces include three low-index surfaces ((100), (110) and (111)) and four high-index ((210), (211), (310) and (321)) surfaces. Perpendicular to the surface, most surfaces followed an oscillatory pattern of contraction and expansion, but the (111) and (321) surfaces relaxed with successive contractions of the first and second interplanar spacing, followed by an expansion of the third interplanar spacing. Also, the (100) surface and high-index (210), (211), (310) and (321) surfaces formed reconstructions with the top layers shifting parallel to the surface. The details of the atomic rearrangement can be understood with a simple bonding coordination argument.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)45-57
Number of pages13
JournalSurface Science
Issue number1-2
Publication statusPublished - Nov 1 1994
Externally publishedYes


ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • Surfaces and Interfaces

Cite this